1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

2009 Preakness Contenders


Pimlico  Old  Clubhouse Cupola

The cupola from the old clubhouse at Pimlico, the most recognizable symbol of the Preakness.

Cindy Pierson Dulay
Updated May 18, 2009

Results are here - Rachel wins! Entries and post positions are here.

Now that we have recovered from Mine That Bird's shocking win in the Kentucky Derby, it is time to look ahead to the Preakness on May 16. Will Mine That Bird win again and have a chance at the Triple Crown or will someone else step up and beat him? Here is the current list of horses planning to start in the Preakness, and several of the Derby starters will be back to try again. Entries will be drawn on May 13, so watch for the post positions that night.

Kentucky Oaks winner Rachel Alexandra plans to run in the Preakness for her new owner Stonestreet Stable, but they will have to pay a $100,000 supplement fee to enter since she was not nominated to the Triple Crown and if she runs, she would be the first Oaks winner ever to run in the Preakness. Because she is a supplement, she could be excluded if 14 original nominees enter.

As of Monday, Hull has dropped out to wait for the Woody Stephens on Belmont day and Mike Smith as been confirmed as the replacement rider for Mine That Bird if Rachel Alexandra runs.

Click the horse's name to see a profile with lots of information, stats, and a photo where available. My contender analysis will come out this weekend.

Triple Crown quick links:

Big DramaFawkes3.00Velazquez
Flying PrivateLukas 3.67 Garcia
Friesan FireJones 3.00 Saez
General QuartersMcCarthy2.69 Leparoux
Luv GovLukas 4.60 Theriot
Mine That BirdWoolley Jr. 5.40 Borel
Musket ManRyan4.00 Coa
Papa ClemStute3.36 Bejarano
Pioneerof The NileBaffert 3.89 Gomez
Rachel AlexandraAsmussen 1.55 Borel
Take the PointsPletcher1.35Prado
TerrainStall Jr.2.20Rose
Tone It DownKomlo1.22Desormeaux

Readers Respond: Who is your top Preakness pick?

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.