1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

2013 Preakness Entries


preakness stakes horse racing

Entries for the 2013 Preakness Stakes at Pimlico on May 18.

© Cindy Pierson Dulay
Updated May 16, 2013

Now that we have recovered from Orb's win in the Kentucky Derby, it is time to look ahead to the 1 3/16 mile Preakness Stakes on May 18. Will he win again and have a chance at the Triple Crown or will someone else step up and beat him? Entries were taken and post positions were drawn on Wednesday afternoon, May 15, in an infield pavillion at Pimlico. The Preakness usually draws a large field, but this year only 9 horses were entered, with only 2 new horses who did not run in the Kentucky Derby joining the fray.

Kentucky Derby winner Orb is the even money favorite breaking from post 1. His trainer Shug McGaughey said, "Well, he won the Fountain of Youth from the '1.' His first race was from the '1' and he finished third in a very good race. Obviously, if I was going to pick it out, I wouldn’t have picked the '1.' But with only nine horses in there to run a mile and three-sixteenths, with a rider like Joel (Rosario), he's going to figure out what to do. He'll have him in the right spot. I'm not sure that I would have picked the ‘1’ out of there. If it had come out the '1' in the Derby, you'd almost have felt like you needed to go home, but I don't feel that way here."

Mylute, the fifth-place finisher at Churchill was rated second in the Preakness morning line at 5-1. Rosie Napravnik, who rode the first winner of her career at Pimlico in 2005 before establishing herself as the leading female jockey in the country, will have the mount aboard Mylute. Departing, the Illinois Derby (G3) winner, was the highest-rated of the new faces on the Triple Crown trail, tabbed third in the line at 6-1.

Click the horse's name to see a profile with lots of information, stats, and a photo where available.

Triple Crown quick links:

Post Horse Trainer Dosage Jockey M/L
1 Orb Shug McGaughey 3.21   Joel Rosario 1-1
2 Goldencents Doug O'Neill 1.67  * Kevin Krigger 8-1
3 Titletown Five D. Wayne Lukas 2.00   Julien Leparoux 30-1
4 Departing Al Stall Jr. 2.71   Brian Hernandez Jr. 6-1
5 Mylute Tom Amoss 2.00   Rosie Napravnik 5-1
6 Oxbow D. Wayne Lukas 2.50   Gary Stevens 15-1
7 Will Take Charge D. Wayne Lukas 3.33   Mike Smith 12-1
8 Govenor Charlie Bob Baffert 1.67   Martin Garcia 15-1
9 Itsmyluckyday Eddie Plesa Jr. 3.00   John Velazquez 10-1

Readers Respond: Who is your top Preakness pick?

  1. About.com
  2. Sports
  3. Horse Racing
  4. Triple Crown
  5. 2013 Preakness Entries

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.