1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

2004 Eclipse Award Finalists


Afleet Alex heads to the track for the B

Afleet Alex is up for Champion 3-Year-Old and possibly Horse of the Year

Cindy Pierson Dulay
Updated January 05, 2006
The National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA), National Turf Writers Association (NTWA) and Daily Racing Form (DRF) today announced the finalists for the 2005 Eclipse Awards, voted on and presented by the three organizations in recognition of excellence in Thoroughbred racing. The Eclipse Awards are named after the great 18th-century racehorse and sire Eclipse, who began racing at age five and was undefeated in 18 starts, including eight walkovers. Eclipse sired the winners of 344 races, including three Epsom Derbies.

Winners in all categories will be announced at the 35rd annual Eclipse Awards ceremony, to be held Monday, Jan. 23, 2006 at the Regent Beverly Wilshire in Beverly Hills, California. Tbe three finalists for Horse of the Year will be announced during the Eclipse Awards ceremony, where NTRA Commissioner D.G. Van Clief, Jr. will present the Horse of the Year trophy to the winning connections. The Eclipse Awards will be televised live by TVG again this year, with coverage beginning at 8:00 p.m. ET.

Below are the finalists in alphabetical order with a link to a profile and photo for each equine finalist and to a bio for each of the human finalists where available.

Two-Year-Old Male: First Samurai, Henny Hughes, Stevie Wonderboy

Two-Year-Old Female: Adieu, Folklore, Wild Fit

Three-Year-Old Male: Afleet Alex, Flower Alley, Giacomo

Three-Year-Old Female: Round Pond, Smuggler, Summerly

Older Male: Borrego, Rock Hard Ten, Saint Liam

Older Female: Ashado, Pleasant Home, Stellar Jayne

Sprinter: Lost in the Fog, Saratoga County, Silver Train

Male Turf Horse: Artie Schiller, Leroidesanimaux, Shirocco

Female Turf Horse: Cesario, Intercontinental, Megahertz

Steeplechase: Hirapour, McDynamo, Sur La Tete

Owner: Michael Gill, Live Oak Plantation, Melnyk Racing Stables, Inc.

Breeder: Adena Springs, Edward P. Evans, Live Oak Stud

Trainer: Steve Asmussen, Robert Frankel, Todd Pletcher

Jockey: Jerry Bailey, Edgar Prado, John Velazquez

Apprentice Jockey: Channing Hill, Justin Stein, Emma-Jayne Wilson

Previous Eclipse Winners

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.