1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

2004 Eclipse Award Finalists


Invasor wins the 2006 Breeders' Cup Classic Powered by Dodge over Bernardini

Invasor is up for Champion Older Male and probably Horse of the Year too

© Cindy Pierson Dulay
Updated January 23, 2007

Winners are here!

The National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA), National Turf Writers Association (NTWA) and Daily Racing Form (DRF) have announced the finalists for the 2006 Eclipse Awards, voted on and presented by the three organizations in recognition of excellence in Thoroughbred racing. The Eclipse Awards are named after the great 18th-century racehorse and sire Eclipse, who began racing at age five and was undefeated in 18 starts, including eight walkovers. Eclipse sired the winners of 344 races, including three Epsom Derbies.

Winners in all categories will be announced at the 36th annual Eclipse Awards ceremony, to be held Monday, January 22 at the Beverly Wilshire Four Seasons hotel in Beverly Hills, California. The three finalists for Horse of the Year will be announced just before it is presented at the conclusion of the Eclipse Awards ceremony. TVG will televise the Eclipse Awards live, with coverage beginning at 8:00 p.m. ET.

Below are the finalists in alphabetical order with a link to a profile each equine finalist and to a bio for each of the human finalists where available.

Two-Year-Old Male: Circular Quay, Nobiz Like Shobiz, Street Sense

Two-Year-Old Female: Dreaming of Anna, Octave, Point Ashley

Three-Year-Old Male: Barbaro, Bernardini, Discreet Cat

Three-Year-Old Female: Bushfire, Pine Island, Wait a While

Older Male: Invasor, Lava Man, Premium Tap

Older Female: Asi Siempre, Fleet Indian, Round Pond

Sprinter: Discreet Cat, Henny Hughes, Thor's Echo

Male Turf Horse: English Channel, Miesque's Approval, The Tin Man

Female Turf Horse: Gorella, Ouija Board, Wait a While

Steeplechase: McDynamo, Mixed Up, Sur La Tete

Owner: Darley Stable, Lael Stable, Shadwell Stable

Breeder: Adena Springs, Darley, Mr. and Mrs. Roy Jackson

Trainer: Kiaran McLaughlin, Doug O'Neill, Todd Pletcher

Jockey: Russell Baze, Garrett Gomez, Edgar Prado

Apprentice Jockey: Martin Garcia, Julien Leparoux, Rosie Napravnik

Previous Eclipse Winners

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.