1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

World Championships Breeders' Cup Sprint

Entries and Post Positions


2011 Breeders' Cup World Championships at Churchill Downs

2011 Breeders' Cup World Championships at Churchill Downs

Updated October 31, 2011

Sentient Jet Breeders' Cup Sprint (G1)
Distance: 6 Furlongs
Conditions: 3 Year Olds and Up
Purse: $1.5 Million
Post Time: 2:37pm Eastern

A total of 12 horses were pre-entered for the Sprint but only 9 made the final field on October 31, as several opted to go in other races.

The Breeders' Cup Sprint (G1) is one of the original seven World Championships races, first run at Hollywood Park in 1984, and was immediately granted Grade 1 status by the American Graded Stakes Committee of the Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders Association for the inaugural running. It has always been run at 6 furlongs on the main (dirt or synthetic) track, and as expected, it consistently draws full fields given that it is the most frequently contested distance in American racing. It offered a $1 million purse from 1984 to 2005, was doubled to $2 million for the 2006 running at Churchill Downs, but was cut back to $1.5 million for the 2011 running, with the difference moved to the newly created Breeders' Cup Juvenile Sprint. The fastest six furlongs run in Breeders' Cup Sprint history was 1:07.08, by Midnight Lute at Santa Anita in 2008 over the Pro-Ride synthetic, while the slowest running was 1:10.40 by Gulch in 1988 at Churchill Downs. Surprisingly there has only been one repeat winner of the race, Midnight Lute who won over a muddy track in 2007 at Monmouth Park under cold, rainy conditions, and then came back to win in the desert heat of Santa Anita a year laterm, over a synthetic surface. Both years, jockey Garrett Gomez was in the irons for trainer Bob Baffert. The Breeders' Cup Challenge "Win and You're In" races for the Sprint are the Smile Sprint Handicap (G2) at Calder, Vosburgh Invitational Stakes (G1) at Belmont, Stoll Keenon Ogden Phoenix Stakes (G3) at Keeneland, and the Ancient Title Stakes (G1) at Santa Anita. The lowest win payoff was $4.60 for inaugural winner Eillo, while Sheikh Albadou's $54.60 payoff is the record highest mutuel. Sheikh Albadou is also the only European invader to win the Breeders' Cup Sprint.

Main Breeders' Cup Entries and Post Positions page

Saturday: Marathon - Juvenile Turf - Sprint - Turf Sprint - Dirt Mile - Turf - Juvenile - Mile - Classic
Friday: Juvenile Sprint - Juvenile Fillies Turf - FandM Sprint - Juvenile Fillies - FandM Turf - Ladies' Classic

Click each horse's name to view a full profile with lots of info

Note: - * by the horse's name indicates he is guaranteed a spot in the field due to winning a Breeders' Cup Challenge Win and You're In race.

1EuroearsBob BaffertRafael Bejarano4-1
2Giant Ryan *Bisnath ParbooCornelio Velasquez8-1
3AikeniteTodd PletcherJavier Castellano8-1
4Hamazing DestinyD. Wayne LukasRobby Albarado10-1
5Jackson BendNick ZitoCorey Nakatani7-2
6Force FreezePeter WalderJohn Velazquez10-1
7Amazombie *Bill SpawrMike Smith5-1
8Big DramaDavid FawkesRamon Dominguez5-2
9ApriorityDavid FawkesJoel Rosario30-1

Readers Respond: Who do you like in the 2013 Breeders' Cup Sprint?

  1. About.com
  2. Sports
  3. Horse Racing
  4. Breeders Cup
  5. History & Past Results
  6. 2011 Breeders' Cup Coverage
  7. 2011 Breeders' Cup Sprint Entries and Post Positions

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.