1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

2010 Preakness Entries


The post positions for the 2010 Preakness Stakes

The post positions for the 2010 Preakness Stakes

© Cindy Pierson Dulay
Updated May 13, 2010

Now that we have recovered from Calvin Borel's 3rd win in 4 years at the Kentucky Derby, it is time to look ahead to the Preakness on May 15. Will Super Saver win again and have a chance at the Triple Crown or will someone else step up and beat him? Entries were taken and post positions were drawn on Wednesday afternoon at the Turfside Terrace lounge in the infield.

The Preakness, contested at 1 3/16 miles at Pimlico Race Course in Baltimore, drew a field of 12 including some who didn't go to Churchill for any number of reasons including insufficient graded stakes earnings. As well, there will not be a filly trying to beat the boys like Rachel Alexandra last year, as Devil May Care finished a distant 10th in the Derby behind her stablemate Super Saver, and the trainer and co-owner of Kentucky Oaks winner Blind Luck, Jerry Hollendorfer, did not express any intention of putting his filly against male competition anytime soon. Hurricane Ike, expected to run as of Tuesday, was declared out of the race Wednesday morning with a leg injury.

Click the horse's name to see a profile with lots of information, stats, and a photo where available.

Triple Crown quick links:

1AikeniteTodd Pletcher 2.60 Javier Castellano20-1
2Schoolyard DreamsDerek Ryan 2.71 Eibar Coa15-1
3Pleasant PrinceWesley Ward 2.40 Julien Leparoux20-1
4Northern GiantD. Wayne Lukas 2.60 John Jacinto30-1
5Yawanna TwistRichard Dutrow Jr. 2.33 Edgar Prado30-1
6Jackson BendNick Zito 6.20 Mike Smith12-1
7Lookin at LuckyBob Baffert 3.33 Martin Garcia3-1
8Super SaverTodd Pletcher 3.00 Calvin Borel5-2
9CaracortadoMike Machowsky 2.11 Paul Atkinson10-1
10Paddy O'PradoDale Romans 1.20 Kent Desormeaux9-2
11First DudeDale Romans 3.00 Ramon Dominguez20-1
12DublinD. Wayne Lukas 2.33 Garrett Gomez10-1

Readers Respond: Who is your top Preakness pick?

  1. About.com
  2. Sports
  3. Horse Racing
  4. Triple Crown
  5. 2010 Preakness Entries

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.