1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

2010 Kentucky Oaks Entries


Blind Luck

Blind Luck works out on Tuesday morning at Churchill Downs. Later that day she was made the 6-5 morning line favorite for the Kentucky Oaks.

© Cindy Pierson Dulay
Updated April 28, 2010
The $500,000-added Kentucky Oaks (G1) is the female counterpart to the Kentucky Derby, and will be run on Friday April 30, carded as the 11th race of a 12-race card at Churchill Downs. A full field of 14 three-year-old fillies will contest this 1 1/8 mile main track trip for a total purse of $584,300, the winner receiving $329,662. Each entrant carries the assigned weight of 121 pounds.

Blind Luck is the 6-5 choice on the morning line and drew post 5. Regular rider Rafael Bejarano will be in the irons for trainer Jerry Hollendorfer, who has won the Oaks twice already with Lite Light in 1991 and Pike Place Dancer in 1996. In to challenge her include three fillies tied at 8-1 second favoritism: Crisp in post 7, Tidal Pool in post 8, and Amen Hallelujah in post 13. Crisp's trainer John Sadler said, "Blind Luck had a really tough trip when we got lucky enough to beat her at Santa Anita. Our filly is big and strong, and the extra distance isn't going to bother us at all. But Blind Luck is definitely the horse to beat." Rick Dutrow, trainer of Amen Hallelujah said, "It looks like we're very live now. It looks like our filly really likes this track. I'm very happy with the position we're in."

The Kentucky Oaks will be shown live during a special 1 hour telecast on Bravo from 5-6 pm ET with the Oaks going to post at 5:45. Along with the usual wagers and the one Future Wager pool, the Oaks kicks off two additional two-day bets, the Oaks-Derby double, and a new Pick 3 including the Woodford Reserve Turf Classic and the Derby. Free past performances are available here from Daily Racing Form.

Top Kentucky Derby contenders - entries will be drawn on Wednesday
Analyzing the Top Derby Contenders - trying to select a winner by matching each to the profile of a Kentucky Derby winner using many of the more popular angles and statistical trends.



1It's Tea TimeAlan Garcia15-1
2Jody SlewMiguel Mena30-1
3Quiet TemperRobby Albarado10-1
4Age of HumorRajiv Maragh30-1
5Blind LuckRafael Bejarano6-5
6BeauticianAlex Solis15-1
7CrispJoel Rosario8-1
8Tidal PoolCalvin Borel8-1
9Bella DiamanteMike Smith30-1
10Champagne d'OroMartin Garcia30-1
11Evening JewelKent Desormeaux10-1
12AilaleaJohn Velazquez15-1
13Amen HallelujahJulien Leparoux8-1
14Joanie's CatchPaco Lopez30-1
  1. About.com
  2. Sports
  3. Horse Racing
  4. Triple Crown
  5. 2010 Kentucky Oaks Entries

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.