1. Sports
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

2008 Kentucky Derby Entries


Churchill Downs home of the Kentucky Derby

Churchill Downs home of the Kentucky Derby

© Cindy Pierson Dulay
April 30, 2008


On Wednesday afternoon, the post positions were selected for the 134th running of the Kentucky Derby, to be held Saturday May 3, 2008, at Churchill Downs. Selection order for the field of 20 was determined by random draw in the morning and then the connections made their post position selections Wednesday afternoon at a special ceremony.

As expected, undefeated Florida Derby winner Big Brown was installed as the 3-1 morning line favorite by Churchill Downs handicapper Mike Battaglia. However, despite having the 16th selection and with the two inside posts open, trainer Richard Dutrow Jr. opted for the far outside post 20. Santa Anita Derby winner and 4-1 second choice Colonel John will break from post 10, which is the most successful post position with 7 wins and 14 in-the-money finishes since 1970. Trainer Steve Asmussen chose post 9 for Louisiana Derby winner Pyro, the 6-1 third choice despite his poor 10th place finish in the Blue Grass. After the top three, the rest of the field are all double digits on the morning line, with four horses set at 15-1. Eight Belles, the only filly in the field, will break from post 5 for trainer Larry Jones in her first race against males and was set at odds of 20-1.

The Kentucky Derby will be televised on NBC from 5-6:30pm EDT but you can watch most of the Derby card on ESPN during the afternoon. Free past performances will be available from DRF soon. Post time for the Derby should be at 6:04pm EDT.

Below is a table with the entries in post position order with morning line odds. Be sure to click the link on each horse's name to view full info, stats, and a photo where available. The dual qualifiers are noted with a star by their dosage index.

Triple Crown quick links:

PostHorseTrainerDosageJockeyM/L Odds
1Cool Coal ManNick Zito 3.00 Julien Leparoux 20-1
2Tale of EkatiBarclay Tagg 2.00 *Eibar Coa 15-1
3Anak NakalNick Zito 4.00Rafael Bejarano 30-1
4Court VisionBill Mott 3.67 *Julien Leparoux 20-1
5Eight BellesLarry Jones2.20 Gabriel Saez 20-1
6Z FortuneSteve Asmussen1.67 Robby Albarado 15-1
7Big TruckBarclay Tagg 1.40 Javier Castellano50-1
8VisionaireMichael Matz 3.80 Jose Lezcano 20-1
9PyroSteve Asmussen 3.73 *Shaun Bridgmohan 6-1
10Colonel JohnEoin Harty 2.11 * Corey Nakatani 4-1
11Z HumorBill Mott2.73 Rene Douglas 30-1
12Smooth AirBennie Stutts Jr. 3.00 Manoel Cruz 20-1
13Bob Black JackJames Kasparoff4.33 Richard Migliore 20-1
14MonbaTodd Pletcher 2.00 Ramon Dominguez 15-1
15AdrianoGraham Motion3.17 Edgar Prado 30-1
16Denis of CorkDavid Carroll 1.80 Calvin Borel 20-1
17Cowboy CalTodd Pletcher 2.60 John Velazquez 20-1
18RecapturethegloryLouie Roussel III5.00 E.T. Baird 20-1
19GayegoPaulo Lobo4.33 Mike Smith 15-1
20Big BrownRichard Dutrow Jr. 1.67 Kent Desormeaux3-1
Related Video
  1. About.com
  2. Sports
  3. Horse Racing
  4. Triple Crown
  5. History and Past Coverage
  6. Kentucky Derby Coverage
  7. 2008 Kentucky Derby
  8. 2008 Kentucky Derby Entries

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.