1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

Media Eclipse Award for Audio and Multi-Media Internet



Giacomo and Mike Smith parade for the fans after winning the 2005 Kentucky Derby

Cindy Pierson Dulay

The National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA) today announced Sirius Satellite Radio has won the Media Eclipse Award in the Audio and Multi-Media Internet category for its live coverage of the 2005 Breeders' Cup World Thoroughbred Championships.

In the first-ever national live radio broadcast of all eight Breeders' Cup races, Sirius devoted eight hours of coverage on Sirius Channel 125, led by co-hosts Dave Johnson and Bill Finley, who were joined by reporters Caton Bredar and Mitch Levites, and analysts Dave Grening, Dick Jerardi, Jay Privman, Gary Selby, Mark Johnson, Nick Smith and Simon Clare. In addition to pre-and post-race analysis, and Johnson's race calls, the Sirius team conducted on site interviews with jockeys and trainers throughout the day. The broadcast, which aired on October 29, also included pre-recorded vignettes titled "Where Are They Now?" featuring interviews with connections of former Breeders' Cup champions.

"It's an exceptional accomplishment by co-hosts Dave Johnson and Bill Finley and producer Ed Pappas, and all of our team at Sirius to win this award," said Steve Cohen, vice president of sports programming for Sirius Satellite Radio. "It was an extremely demanding challenge to broadcast all eight races of the World Thoroughbred championships, but we had first-rate people on the talent and production side to get the job done."

Honorable mention in this Audio and Multi-Media Internet category went to WBAL Radio in Baltimore for "Baltimore's Last Preakness?" produced by Mark Miller and Mike Wellbrock on May 21 about the future of racing in Maryland.

Judges for the Audio and Multi Media Internet category were Jim Militello of Associated Press Radio; Brian Rublein, former news director of WHAS Radio in Louisville; and Mike Farrell, racing journalist and former UPI Radio reporter.

Eclipse Awards are given to recognize members of the media for outstanding coverage of Thoroughbred racing. Eclipse Awards are bestowed upon horses and individuals whose outstanding achievements have earned them the title of Champion in their respective categories. Awards also are given to recognize members of the media for outstanding coverage of Thoroughbred racing.

The Eclipse Awards are named after the great 18th-century racehorse and foundation sire Eclipse, who began racing at age five and was undefeated in 18 starts, including eight walkovers. Eclipse sired the winners of 344 races, including three Epsom Derbies.

The 2005 Eclipse Awards will be held on Monday, January 23, 2006 at the Regent Beverly Wilshire in Beverly Hills, Calif. For hotel accommodations and Eclipse Awards dinner reservations, contact Debbie Blair at the NTRA's Lexington office, (800) 792-6872, or e-mail dblair@ntra.com.

Photography Award
Local TV Broadcast Award
National Television Live Racing and Features Awards

Elsewhere on the Web
  1. About.com
  2. Sports
  3. Horse Racing
  4. News
  5. Latest News Articles
  6. Media Eclipse Award for Audio and Multi-Media Internet

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.