1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

2007 Eclipse Award Finalists



Curlin is the most likely to win Champion 3-year-old and possibly Horse of the Year

© Cindy Pierson Dulay
Updated January 22, 2008

Results are here!

The National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA), National Turf Writers Association (NTWA) and Daily Racing Form (DRF) have announced the finalists for the 2007 Eclipse Awards, voted on and presented by the three organizations in recognition of excellence in Thoroughbred racing. The Eclipse Awards are named after the great 18th-century racehorse and sire Eclipse, who began racing at age five and was undefeated in 18 starts, including eight walkovers. Eclipse sired the winners of 344 races, including three Epsom Derbies.

Winners in all categories will be announced at the 37th annual Eclipse Awards ceremony, to be held Monday, January 21 at the Beverly Wilshire Four Seasons hotel in Beverly Hills, California. The three finalists for Horse of the Year will be announced just before it is presented at the conclusion of the Eclipse Awards ceremony.

Below are the finalists in alphabetical order with a link to a profile each equine finalist and to a bio for each of the human finalists. You can view lifetime past performances for all the horses here from Daily Racing Form.

Two-Year-Old Male:   Kodiak Kowboy, Pyro, War Pass

Two-Year-Old Female:   Country Star, Indian Blessing, Proud Spell

Three-Year-Old Male:   Curlin, Hard Spun, Street Sense

Three-Year-Old Female:   Octave, Panty Raid, Rags to Riches

Older Male:   Corinthian, Invasor (ARG), Lawyer Ron

Older Female:   Ginger Punch, Hystericalady, Nashoba's Key

Male Sprinter:   Fabulous Strike, Idiot Proof, Midnight Lute

Female Sprinter:   Dream Rush, Maryfield, River's Prayer

Male Turf Horse:   After Market, English Channel, Kip Deville

Female Turf Horse:   Lahudood (GB), Nashoba's Key, Precious Kitten

Steeplechase:   Good Night Shirt, McDynamo, Planets Aligned

Owner:   Maggi Moss, Shadwell Stable, Stronach Stables

Breeder:   Adena Springs, William S. Farish, Martin and Pam Wygod

Trainer:   Steve Asmussen, Kiaran McLaughlin, Todd Pletcher

Jockey:   Robby Albarado, Garrett Gomez, John Velazquez

Apprentice Jockey:   Tyler Pizarro, Alonso Quinonez, Joe Talamo

Previous Eclipse Winners

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.