1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

Skip Away

Skip Away winning the 1998 Woodward at Belmont.

Eugene Viti
Updated May 26, 2004
Trainer Shug McGaughey and jockey Kent Desormeaux join Thoroughbred champions Skip Away and Flawlessly as 2004’s class of inductees in the National Museum of Racing’s Hall of Fame. Museum president John von Stade announced the results today after more than 140 members of the racing media participated in the annual election.

The four new members will be formally inducted during open public ceremonies at 10:30 a.m. on Monday, Aug. 9, at the Fasig-Tipton Sales Pavilion in Saratoga Springs, New York.

McGaughey, who was elected over fellow finalists Nick Zito and John Veitch in the Contemporary Trainer category, was eligible for election for the first time. Trainers become eligible for the Contemporary category after having been licensed for 25 years. McGaughey has spent most of his career as trainer for the Phipps Family stable and has trained a total of eight champions for the Phippses and other owners. The Phipps homebreds include unbeaten Personal Ensign and Belmont Stakes winner Easy Goer. Through May 23, 2004, McGaughey has won 1,379 races (23.5%) from 5,854 starts and earned $83,918,770. Through 2003 he had won 237 graded stakes, including eight Breeders’ Cup races.

In the Jockey category, Kent Desormeaux shares with Chris McCarron and Steve Cauthen the distinction of having won Eclipse Awards as both an apprentice and also as an established jockey. Through May 23, 2004, Desormeaux has won 4,419 races (19.9%) from 22,191 mounts and earned $169,217,481. His victories include the Kentucky Derby on Real Quiet and Fusaichi Pegasus and the Preakness on Real Quiet. He was America’s leading rider three consecutive years and his one-year record of 598 wins still stands.

Jockeys are eligible after 15 years of riding. The category this year produced four candidates, with Desormeaux winning in the final election over Eddie Maple, Randy Romero, and Jose Santos.

Skip Away, which raced for Mrs. Carolyn Hine and was trained by her husband, Sonny Hine, was Horse of the Year at five in 1998. He had been champion 3-year-old and champion older male in the two previous years. Skip Away (Skip Trial—Ingot Way, by Diplomat Way) won 18 of 38 races and earned $9,616,360. He defeated Cigar in one of his two Jockey Club Gold Cup triumphs and won the 1997 Breeders’ Cup Classic by six lengths. Skip Away was bred in Florida by Mrs. Anne Marie Barnhart and was purchased by Hine for $22,500 as a 2-year-old.

Skip Away was eligible for the Hall of Fame for the first time, the requisite five calendar years having elapsed since his final race. His trainer, the late Sonny Hine, was elected to the Hall of Fame last year. Skip Away won against Lure and Manila in the Contemporary Male horse category.

Flawlessly, winner in the Contemporary Female category, was champion grass mare in both 1992 and 1993. She was bred and raced by Mr. and Mrs. Louis Wolfson’s Harbor View Farm and was trained through most of her career by Charlie Whittingham. She was sired by Harbor View’s Triple Crown winner Affirmed and foaled from La Confidence, by Nijinsky II. The Kentucky-bred won both the grade I Matriarch and Ramona Handicaps three years in succession. Overall, she won 16 of 28 races and earned $2,572,536. Flawlessly was elected over Mom’s Command and Sky Beauty.

Horses and trainers whose competitive careers ended more than 25 years ago are reviewed by a special Historic Review Committee, which may have additional inductees to announce later in the summer.

More about:
Shug McGaughey
Kent Desormeaux
Skip Away

  1. About.com
  2. Sports
  3. Horse Racing
  4. History
  5. 2004 Hall of Fame Inductees

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.