1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

2011 Breeders Crown Races


10 of 12

Cedar Dove wins the 2011 Breeders Crown 3-year-old Filly Trot
Cedar Dove wins the 2011 Breeders Crown 3-year-old Filly Trot

Cedar Dove wins the 2011 Breeders Crown 3-year-old Filly Trot and Seaside at Woodbine Racetrack

© Cindy Pierson Dulay
Cedar Dove didn't disappoint in the $501,950 Breeders Crown Filly Trot final scoring the victory in a stakes equalling effort on Saturday night at Woodbine Racetrack. The Noel Daley pupil matched the stakes record of 1:53.3 that was set in 2004 by Housethatruthbuilt. The bay also captured her sixth victory of the season in 15 outings.

Driver Ron Pierce took Cedar Dove to the front after a :27.1 opening panel. The pair remained the leader thought splits of :57 and 1:25.3 before scoring the three and three quarter length triumph. Crys Dream (Luc Ouellette) finished second and Oh Sweet Baby (Mario Baillargeon) was third.

The daughter of Andover Hall-Pine For Her, who also won her elimination, now has a lifetime record of 7-5-2 in 21 starts and career earnings of $688,840 for owners Adam Victor And Son Stable of New York and John Fielding of Toronto.

Results chart

"It has been going on for 10 years now. We have joined up with Ronnie now and then. We have had a lot of luck in the Breeders Crown for the victors and Ronnie and Noel,” said Mike Vand Der Kemp, Noel Daley's assistant trainer."She has had an easy week. She towed a couple of days, trained an easy trip, just make sure she eats and she can do the rest.” She likes to go out in the paddock and her care taker, Marie, does a great job with her.”

Driver Ron Pierce said, "It's very important to keep her relaxed," he continued. She is a little insecure and unsure of herself and everything going on all around her so you just have to keep her relaxed.”

  1. About.com
  2. Sports
  3. Horse Racing
  4. Harness Racing
  5. 2011 Breeders Crown Races

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.