1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

World Championships Emirates Airline Breeders' Cup Turf

Entries and Post Positions


2011 Breeders' Cup World Championships at Churchill Downs

2011 Breeders' Cup World Championships at Churchill Downs

Updated October 31, 2011

Emirates Airline Breeders' Cup Turf (G1)
Distance: 1 1/2 Miles (Turf)
Conditions: 3 Year Olds and Up
Purse: $3 Million
Post Time: 4:45pm

A total of 11 horses were pre-entered for the Turf but only 9 made the final field on October 31, as some opted to go in other races.

The Breeders' Cup Turf (G1) is one of the original seven World Championship races, first run at Hollywood Park in 1984. It has always been contested at the classic European distance of 1 1/2 miles on turf, which means it involves going around 3 turns except at Belmont Park (Widener Turf Course) and Woodbine (1996) where the distance can be covered in a 2 turn trip. It is the main target of European invaders, given its purse of $3 million, the second highest of the program after the Classic. Two females have won the event, Pebbles in 1985 and Miss Alleged in 1991; with the introduction of the Filly and Mare Turf, distaff participation is rare but Dar Re Mi did finish third in 2009. The time record for the race was 2:23.42 by Conduit at Santa Anita in 2008, while the slowest running was 2:42.07 by Northern Spur over the rain-soaked turf of Belmont Park. Winners have come from France, England, Ireland, and America, with one Canadian winner, Chief Bearhart in 1997 for Sam-Son Farm and trainer Mark Frostad. The only dead heat for win in Breeders' Cup World Championships history occurred in 2003 when American horse Johar and Irish horse High Chaparral hit the line together in 2:24.24 at Santa Anita. High Chaparral also won the 2002 edition at Arlington Park, making him the first repeat winner; Conduit won in 2008 and 2009 to repeat the feat. The "Win and You're In" races for the Turf are the Grand Prix de Saint-Cloud (France), Takarazuka Kinen (Japan), United Nations Stakes (New Jersey), King George VI & Queen Elizabeth Stakes (United Kingdom), Arlington Million (Illinois), Del Mar Handicap (California), Irish Champion Stakes (Ireland), Prix Niel (France), Joe Hirsch Turf Classic Invitational (New York), and the Pattison Canadian International (Canada).

Main Breeders' Cup Entries and Post Positions page

Saturday: Marathon - Juvenile Turf - Sprint - Turf Sprint - Dirt Mile - Turf - Juvenile - Mile - Classic
Friday: Juvenile Sprint - Juvenile Fillies Turf - FandM Sprint - Juvenile Fillies - FandM Turf - Ladies' Classic

Click each horse's name to view a full profile with lots of info

Note: - * by the horse's name indicates he is guaranteed a spot in the field due to winning a Breeders' Cup Challenge Win and You're In race.

1St. Nicholas AbbeyAidan O'BrienJoseph O'Brien9-2
2Sarafina *Alain De Royer-DupreChristophe Lemaire5-2
3Dean's KittenMike MakerRamon Dominguez10-1
4Stately VictorMichael MakerMike Smith30-1
5Teaks North *Justin SallustoJavier Castellano20-1
6Await the DawnAidan O'BrienJulien Leparoux7-2
7Sea MoonSir Michael StouteRyan Moore4-1
8Brilliant SpeedTom AlbertraniJohn Velazquez20-1
9MiddayHenry CecilTom Queally4-1

Readers Respond: Who do you like in the 2013 Breeders' Cup Turf?

  1. About.com
  2. Sports
  3. Horse Racing
  4. Breeders Cup
  5. History & Past Results
  6. 2011 Breeders' Cup Coverage
  7. 2011 Breeders' Cup Turf Entries and Post Positions

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.