1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

World Championships Breeders' Cup Turf Sprint

Entries and Post Positions


2011 Breeders' Cup World Championships at Churchill Downs

2011 Breeders' Cup World Championships at Churchill Downs

Updated October 31, 2011

Breeders' Cup Turf Sprint (G2)
Distance: 5 Furlongs (Turf)
Conditions: 3 Year Olds and Up
Purse: $1 Million
Post Time: 3:21pm

A total of 14 horses were pre-entered for the Turf Sprint and all 14 made the final entries on Monday October 31.

The Breeders' Cup Turf Sprint (G2) was first introduced to the Championship program in 2008 at Santa Anita. Unlike the other championship races, it does not have an official set distance, instead it is run at the conventional one-turn turf sprint distance of the host track. At Santa Anita in 2008 and 2009, with its unique downhill chute, it was run at about 6 1/2 furlongs, while at Churchill Downs, with its standard 7 furlong oval with no chutes, it was contested at five furlongs. Should the Championships return to Belmont Park, which can accommodate turf sprints up to 7 1/2 furlongs, it is expected to be contested at 6 furlongs. It is no surprise the first two runnings were won by local horses, jockeys, and trainers accustomed to the right-left bends of the Santa Anita downhill chute and main-track crossover, with Desert Code winning in 2008 and California Flag winning in 2009. Of those two, California Flag was faster, completing the trip in 1:11.28. In 2010, Chamberlain Bridge won at 5 furlongs, in 56.53 seconds. Desert Code paid a record $75.00 win mutuel, while California Flag is the lowest win payoff in the race's short history, at $8.80. The Breeders' Cup Challenge "Win and You're In" races for the Turf Sprint are the Darley T.J. Smith Stakes (Australia), the Coolmore Nunthorpe Stakes (United Kingdom), the Turf Monster Handicap (Pennsylvania), and the Nearctic Stakes (Canada). This race has yet to have attracted a title or presenting sponsor.

Main Breeders' Cup Entries and Post Positions page

Saturday: Marathon - Juvenile Turf - Sprint - Turf Sprint - Dirt Mile - Turf - Juvenile - Mile - Classic
Friday: Juvenile Sprint - Juvenile Fillies Turf - FandM Sprint - Juvenile Fillies - FandM Turf - Ladies' Classic

Click each horse's name to view a full profile with lots of info

Note: - * by the horse's name indicates he is guaranteed a spot in the field due to winning a Breeders' Cup Challenge Win and You're In race. 9% indicates the horse is not Breeders' Cup eligible and will require a 9% supplement fee to enter.

1Grand AdventureMark FrostadJavier Castellano20-1
2Holiday for KittenWesley WardJoel Rosario30-1
3Broken DreamsTom ProctorGarrett Gomez20-1
4Perfect OfficerMichael PinoKendrick Carmouche12-1
5Great AttackWesley WardJeffrey Sanchez20-1
6California FlagBrian KorinerPat Valenzuela15-1
7HoofitGraham MotionEdgar Prado15-1
8Regally Ready *Steve AsmussenCorey Nakatani3-1
9RapportRonny WernerBrian Hernandez Jr.30-1
10HavelockDarrin MillerRobby Albarado9-2
11Country DaySteve MargolisJames Graham20-1
12Camp VictoryMike MitchellJulien Leparoux12-1
13CaracortadoMike MachowskyJoe Talamo4-1
14Chamberlain BridgeBret CalhounJamie Theriot5-1

Readers Respond: Who do you like in the 2013 Breeders' Cup Turf Sprint?

  1. About.com
  2. Sports
  3. Horse Racing
  4. Breeders Cup
  5. History & Past Results
  6. 2011 Breeders' Cup Coverage
  7. 2011 Breeders' Cup Turf Sprint Entries and Post Positions

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.