1. Sports
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

World Championships TVG Breeders' Cup Mile

Entries and Post Positions


2011 Breeders' Cup World Championships at Churchill Downs

2011 Breeders' Cup World Championships at Churchill Downs

Updated October 31, 2011

TVG Breeders' Cup Mile (G1)
Distance: 1 Mile (Turf)
Conditions: 3 Year Olds and Up
Distance: $2 Million
Post Time: 6:07pm

A total of 13 horses were pre-entered for the Mile, and all 13 stayed in for the final entries on October 31.

The Breeders' Cup Mile (G1) is one of the original seven World Championships races, two of which are on the turf. Over its history it has generally drawn the largest fields, and by its design attracted many European horses. It has always been run at 1 mile on the turf, which is usually a 2 turn event, with the notable exceptions of Belmont Park (Widener Turf) and Woodbine Racetrack (1996 only) where it is run around 1 turn. Unlike other Breeders' Cup races, the Mile seems to the be the race that is conducive to repeat winners, with Miesque winning in 1987 (Hollywood) and 1988 (Churchill), Lure winning in 1992 (Gulfstream) and 1993 (Santa Anita), and most recently Goldikova winning three in a row, 2008 and 2009 at Santa Anita and then 2010 at Churchill Downs. The record time for the race is Val Royal's blistering clocking of 1:32.05 at Belmont Park in 2001, while the slowest was Ridgewood Pearl's time of 1:43.65 over the rain-soaked Widener Turf Course, also at Belmont Park. The longest shot to come home first in the Mile was Last Tycoon in 1986 who paid $73.80, while the lowest win payoff is a tie between 1993 winner Lure and 2010 winner Goldikova, who each paid $4.60; coincidentally both are repeat winners. The race has had a number of title or presenting sponsors over the years, starting with Michelob Brewery (1984-1986), followed by Merv Griffin's Paradise Island Resort and Casino (1989), Toyota (1990-1992), Buick (1996), National Car Rental (1997-1999), NetJets (2002-2007) and then Television Games Network (2009 to present). There are six Breeders' Cup Challenge "Win and You're In" races: the Doncaster Mile (Australia), Prix Haras de Fresnay-Le-Buffard Jacques le Marois (France), Shoemaker Mile (California), Ricoh Woodbine Mile (Canada), Shadwell Turf Mile (Kentucky), and Queen Elizabeth II Stakes (United Kingdom).

Main Breeders' Cup Entries and Post Positions page

Saturday: Marathon - Juvenile Turf - Sprint - Turf Sprint - Dirt Mile - Turf - Juvenile - Mile - Classic
Friday: Juvenile Sprint - Juvenile Fillies Turf - FandM Sprint - Juvenile Fillies - FandM Turf - Ladies' Classic

Click each horse's name to view a full profile with lots of info

Note: - * by the horse's name indicates he is guaranteed a spot in the field due to winning a Breeders' Cup Challenge Win and You're In race.

1GoldikovaFreddie HeadOlivier Peslier7-5
2ZoffanyAidan O'BrienRyan Moore20-1
3Courageous Cat *Bill MottPat Valenzuela8-1
4Mr. CommonsJohn ShirreffsMike Smith20-1
5Gio Ponti *Christophe ClementRamon Dominguez4-1
6Get StormyThomas BushGarrett Gomez15-1
7JeranimoMichael PenderMartin Garcia20-1
8BywordAndre FabreMaxime Guyon12-1
9Court VisionDale RomansRobby Albarado30-1
10Sidney's CandyTodd PletcherJohn Velazquez15-1
11Strong SuitRichard HannonRichard Hughes10-1
12Compliance OfficerBruce BrownAlex Solis30-1
13Turralure *Charles LoprestiJulien Leparoux8-1

Readers Respond: Who do you like in the 2013 Breeders' Cup Mile?

  1. About.com
  2. Sports
  3. Horse Racing
  4. Breeders Cup
  5. History & Past Results
  6. 2011 Breeders' Cup Coverage
  7. 2011 Breeders' Cup Mile Entries and Post Positions

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.