1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

World Championships Breeders' Cup Dirt Mile

Entries and Post Positions


2011 Breeders' Cup World Championships at Churchill Downs

2011 Breeders' Cup World Championships at Churchill Downs

Updated October 31, 2011

Breeders' Cup Dirt Mile (G1)
Distance: 1 Mile
Conditions: 3 Year Olds and Up
Distance: $1 Million
Post Time: 4:01pm

A total of 16 horses were pre-entered for the Dirt Mile but only 9 made the final field on October 31, as several opted to go in other races.

The Breeders' Cup Dirt Mile (G1) was introduced for the 2007 running at Monmouth Park, the first year of the expanded two-day Championship format. It is run at 1 mile on the main track (dirt or synthetic), except in 2007, when, due to the configuration of the Monmouth oval, the race was run at 1 mile 70 yards. In its first four runnings there have been no repeat winners. The fastest running was in 2008 over the synthetic Pro-Ride surface at Santa Anita, when Albertus Maximus completed the 8 furlong trip around two turns in 1:33.41. 2010 winner Dakota Phone, who ran it over a one-turn trip at Churchill Downs, is the longest priced winner with a win mutuel of $77.40 as the longest shot on the board, capping a $1 superfecta payoff of $36,883.80 when favorites Here Comes Ben and Tizway failed to hit the board and the second-longest shot checked in fourth. As well, no horse, owner, trainer, or jockey has repeated as a Breeders' Cup Dirt Mile winner. The Breeders' Cup Dirt Mile was sponsored by horse racing channel and betting service TVG for the 2008 running only, and was an ungraded stakes race for its first three runnings before being granted Grade 1 status by the Graded Stakes Committee of the Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders Association for the 2010 running at Churchill Downs. Its purse has remained at the $1 million level since its inception. The Breeders' Cup Dirt Mile's inclusion on Championship Day was not popular among some people initially, who felt it contributed to the weakening of the program, since it would siphon talent away from three of the original seven races, the Classic, the Mile (on turf), and the Sprint. The argument continues to this day, as we see horses "duck" any of those above 3 races and parachute into this likely easier spot given its lower purse.

Main Breeders' Cup Entries and Post Positions page

Saturday: Marathon - Juvenile Turf - Sprint - Turf Sprint - Dirt Mile - Turf - Juvenile - Mile - Classic
Friday: Juvenile Sprint - Juvenile Fillies Turf - FandM Sprint - Juvenile Fillies - FandM Turf - Ladies' Classic

Click each horse's name to view a full profile with lots of info

Note: - * by the horse's name indicates he is guaranteed a spot in the field due to winning a Breeders' Cup Challenge Win and You're In race.

1The FactorBob BaffertMartin Garcia7-2
2ShacklefordDale RomansJesus Castanon7-2
3TapizarSteve AsmussenGarrett Gomez20-1
4Tres Borrachos *Martin JonesJoel Rosario30-1
5WilburnSteve AsmussenJulien Leparoux4-1
6IrrefutableBob BaffertRafael Bejarano12-1
7Jersey TownBarclay TaggCornelio Velasquez15-1
8Caleb's PosseDonnie Von HemelRajiv Maragh5-1
9Trappe ShotKiaran McLaughlinJohn Velazquez3-1

Readers Respond: Who do you like in the 2013 Breeders' Cup Dirt Mile?

  1. About.com
  2. Sports
  3. Horse Racing
  4. Breeders Cup
  5. History & Past Results
  6. 2011 Breeders' Cup Coverage
  7. 2011 Breeders' Cup Dirt Mile Entries and Post Positions

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.