1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

Breeders' Cup World Championships Classic

Entries and Post Positions


2011 Breeders' Cup World Championships at Churchill Downs

2011 Breeders' Cup World Championships at Churchill Downs

Updated November 01, 2011

Breeders' Cup Classic (G1)
Distance: 1 1/4 Miles
Conditions: 3 Year Olds and Up
Purse: $5 Million
Post Time: 7:00pm Eastern

A total of 15 horses were pre-entered for the Classic and a field of 13 made the final entries on Monday October 31. On Tuesday, Prayer for Relief was scratched after developing a fever.

First run in 1984, the Breeders' Cup Classic is the highlight race of the Breeders' Cup, and has been run at the same 1 1/4 mile main track (dirt or synthetic) distance since its inception, with a gross purse of $3 million initially, making it the world's richest horse race at the time. It was raised to $4 million at Woodbine in 1996, and then to $5 million in 2006 at Churchill Downs. Tiznow (2000-2001) is the only two-time winner of the Classic, while Zenyatta (2009) is the only female winner. She came a neck short of becoming the second two-time winner, when she was defeated by Blame in 2010, leading to her election as Horse of the Year. Tiznow's full brother Budroyale was second behind Cat Thief in 1999. 1993 winner Arcangues holds the record win payoff of $133.60, with 2002 winner Volponi's win payoff of $43.50 a distant second in that category, while the lowest win payoff was $3.40 for Cigar in 1995 at Belmont Park, capping off a perfect 10-for-10 season and a Horse of the Year championship. The fastest ever Classic was run by Ghostzapper (2004), in 1:59.02 at Lone Star Park, while the slowest was in the inaugural running, won by Wild Again in 2:03.40 at Hollywood Park. Only two European invaders have won, Arcangues (1993) and Raven's Pass (2008). Ferdinand (1987), Alysheba (1988), Sunday Silence (1989), and Unbridled (1990) completed a string of four straight Classics won by Kentucky Derby winners, not necessarily in the same year. Jockeys Pat Day, Jerry Bailey, and Chris McCarron had a stranglehold on this race but are all retired.

Main Breeders' Cup Entries and Post Positions page

Saturday: Marathon - Juvenile Turf - Sprint - Turf Sprint - Dirt Mile - Turf - Juvenile - Mile - Classic
Friday: Juvenile Sprint - Juvenile Fillies Turf - FandM Sprint - Juvenile Fillies - FandM Turf - Ladies' Classic

Click each horse's name to view a full profile with lots of info

Note: - * by the horse's name indicates he is guaranteed a spot in the field due to winning a Breeders' Cup Challenge Win and You're In race.

--Prayer for ReliefBob BaffertRafael Bejaranoscratched
2Flat Out *Charles DickeyAlex Solis6-1
3DrosselmeyerBill MottMike Smith15-1
4Ruler On IceKelly BreenGarrett Gomez30-1
5So You ThinkAidan O'BrienRyan Moore5-1
6Ice BoxNick ZitoCorey Nakatani30-1
7Rattlesnake BridgeKiaran McLaughlinCalvin Borel30-1
8Game On Dude *Bob BaffertChantal Sutherland10-1
9Stay ThirstyTodd PletcherJavier Castellano12-1
10Havre de GraceLarry JonesRamon Dominguez3-1
11HeadacheMichael MakerPaco Lopez30-1
12Uncle MoTodd PletcherJohn Velazquez5-2
13To Honor and ServeBill MottJose Lezcano12-1

Readers Respond: Who do you like in the 2013 Breeders' Cup Classic?

  1. About.com
  2. Sports
  3. Horse Racing
  4. Breeders Cup
  5. History & Past Results
  6. 2011 Breeders' Cup Coverage
  7. 2011 Breeders' Cup Classic Entries and Post Positions

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.