1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

World Championships Breeders' Cup Dirt Mile



2010 Breeders' Cup World Championships at Churchill Downs

2010 Breeders' Cup World Championships at Churchill Downs


Breeders' Cup Dirt Mile (G1)
Distance: 1 Mile
Conditions: 3 Year Olds and Up
Distance: $1 Million
Post Time: 5:20pm

The Dirt Mile was oversubscribed at pre-entry time with 15 horses and only 14 can start. Awesome Gem has second preference in the Marathon. Crown of Thorns and Dakota Phone both have second preference in the Classic. Morning Line has first preference in the Classic. Tropic Storm has first preference in the Turf Sprint.

Saturday: Juvenile Turf - Turf Sprint - Dirt Mile - Juvenile - Mile - Sprint - Turf - Classic
Friday: Marathon - Juvenile Fillies Turf - FandM Sprint - Juvenile Fillies - FandM Turf - Ladies' Classic

Click each horse's name to view a full profile with lots of info

Note: - * by the horse's name indicates he is guaranteed a spot in the field due to winning a Breeders' Cup Challenge Win and You're In race.

1Dakota Phone *Jerry HollendorferJoel Rosario30-1
2TizwayH. James BondRajiv Maragh6-1
3AikeniteTodd PletcherJohn Velazquez50-1
4Mad Flatter *Jeff ThornburyJon Court12-1
5Here Comes BenCharles LoprestiAlex Solis6-1
6GayegoSaeed bin SuroorFrankie Dettori6-1
7ThiskyhasnolimitSteve AsmussenJamie Theriot10-1
8Crown of ThornsRichard MandellaRafael Bejarano4-1
9Hurricane IkeJohn SadlerCalvin Borel20-1
10Morning LineNick ZitoJavier Castellano7-2
11Mine That BirdD. Wayne LukasMike Smith20-1
12Vineyard HavenSaeed bin SuroorAlan Garcia10-1
13Cool Coal ManNick ZitoJulien Leparoux20-1

Readers Respond: Who do you like in the 2013 Breeders' Cup Dirt Mile?

  1. About.com
  2. Sports
  3. Horse Racing
  4. Breeders Cup
  5. History & Past Results
  6. 2010 Breeders' Cup Coverage
  7. 2010 Breeders' Cup Dirt Mile Entries

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.