1. Sports

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

Most Emailed Articles

Holiday Valley Ski Resort

The Triple Crown

Updated: 05/21/04

Only eleven horses have won the elusive Triple Crown. The grueling schedule of three races in 5 weeks at longer distances than most have run previously in their careers is probably the most difficult task any horse will face in his racing career. Funny Cide became the lastest to just miss when he was unable to handle the sloppy track at Belmont and finished third behind Empire Maker. Affirmed in 1978 still remains the last Triple Crown winner. Sadly, the last Triple Crown winner left alive, Seattle Slew, passed away on May 7, 2002. This year a Pennsylvania-bred named Smarty Jones has risen from obscurity to become the next with a chance to become a Triple Crown winner. He is still undefeated after eight races, including the Kentucky Derby and Preakness, so maybe he will actually get the job done!

Year Name Jockey Trainer Owner
1919 Sir Barton John Loftus H. G. Bedwell J. K. L. Ross
1930 Gallant Fox Earl Sande James Fitzsimmons Belair Stud
1935 Omaha William Saunders James Fitzsimmons Belair Stud
1937 War Admiral Charley Kurtsinger George Conway Samuel D. Riddle
1941 Whirlaway Eddie Arcaro Ben A. Jones Calumet Farm
1943 Count Fleet John Longden Don Cameron Mrs. J. D. Hertz
1946 Assault Warren Mehrtens Max Hirsch King Ranch
1948 Citation Eddie Arcaro Ben A. Jones Calumet Farm
1973 Secretariat Ron Turcotte Lucien Laurin Meadow Stable
1977 Seattle Slew Jean Cruguet William Turner, Jr. Karen L. Taylor
1978 Affirmed Steve Cauthen Lazaro S. Barrera Harbor View Farm

There have been 42 horses who won two of the three races. Here are the ones to win the first two and miss on the third.

Triple Crown Near Misses (Derby/Preakness doubles)
YearHorseBelmont finish
1932Burgoo King (Did not start)
1936Bold Venture (Did not start)
1944Pensive 2nd (Bounding Home)
1958Tim Tam 2nd (Cavan)
1961Carry Back 7th (Sherluck)
1964Northern Dancer 3rd (Quadrangle)
1966Kauai King 4th (Amberoid)
1968**Forward Pass 2nd (Stage Door Johnny)
1969Majestic Prince 2nd (Arts and Letters)
1971Canonero II 4th (Pass Catcher)
1979Spectacular Bid 3rd (Coastal)
1981Pleasant Colony 3rd (Summing)
1987Alysheba 4th (Bet Twice)
1989Sunday Silence 2nd (Easy Goer)
1997Silver Charm 2nd (Touch Gold)
1998Real Quiet 2nd (Victory Gallop)
1999Charismatic 3rd (Lemon Drop Kid)
2002War Emblem 8th (Sarava)
2003Funny Cide 3rd (Empire Maker)
**Won on disqualification.

More Triple Crown info online:

  • Triple Crown Links - lots of info about this year's races
  • Triple Crown stats - includes the running times for each race, owner, breeder, jockey, trainer, etc

On the Forum:

Previous Features


©2017 About.com. All rights reserved.