1. Sports

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

Most Emailed Articles

Holiday Valley Ski Resort

Preakness Winners


Here is a list of all the Preakness winners with their connections, winning time, post position, odds, and winning margin. Kentucky Derby winners can be viewed here and Belmont Stakes winners here. A star by the odds indicates that horse was the betting favorite.








2015American Pharoah1V. EspinozaB. BaffertZayat Stable1:58.467*0.90
b c by Pioneerof the Nile - Littleprincessemma x Yankee Gentleman
2014California Chrome3V. EspinozaA. ShermanS. Coburn and P. Martin1:54.841 1/2*0.50
ch c by Lucky Pulpit - Love the Chase x Not For Love
2013Oxbow6G, StevensD. Wayne LukasCalumet Farm1:55.941 3/415.40
b c by Awesome Again - Tizamazing x Cee's Tizzy
2012I'll Have Another9M.GutierrezD. O'NeillReddam Racing LLC1:55.94neck3.20
b c by Flower Alley - Arch's Gal Edith x Arch
2011Shackleford5J. CastanonD. RomansM. Lauffer and W. Cubbedge1:56.471/212.60
b c by Forestry - Oatsee x Unbridled
2010Lookin at Lucky7M. GarciaB. BaffertK. Watson, M. Pegram, and P. Weitman1:55.473/42.40
b c by Smart Strike - Private Feeling x Belong to Me
2009Rachel Alexandra13C. BorelS. AsmussenStonestreet Stable1:55.081*1.80
b f by Medaglia d'Oro - Lotta Kim by Roar
2008Big Brown7K. DesormeauxR. Dutrow Jr.IEAH Stables and Paul Pompa Jr. et al1:54.805 1/4*0.20
b c by Boundary - Mien by Nureyev
2007Curlin4R. AlbaradoS. AsmussenStonestreet, Padua, Bolton, and Midnight Cry Stables1:53.46head3.40
ch c by Smart Strike - Sherriff's Deputy by Deputy Minister
2006Bernardini8J. CastellanoT. AlbertraniDarley Stable1:54.655 1/412.90
b c by A.P. Indy - Cara Rafaela x Quiet American
2005Afleet Alex12J. RoseT. RitcheyCash is King Stable1:55.044 1/2*3.30
dk b/br c by Northern Afleet - Maggy Hawk x Hawkster
2004Smarty Jones7S. ElliottJ. ServisRoy Chapman1:55.5911 1/20.70
ch c by Elusive Quality - I'll Get Along x Smile
2003Funny Cide9J. SantosB. TaggSackatoga Stable1:55.619 3/4*1.90
ch g by Distorted Humor - Belle's Good Cide x Slewacide
2002War Emblem8V. EspinozaB. BaffertThoroughbred Corp.1:56.363/4*2.80
dk b/br c by Our Emblem - Sweetest Lady x Lord At War
2001Point Given11G. StevensB. BaffertThoroughbred Corp.1:55.512 1/4*2.30
ch c by Thunder Gulch - Turko's Turn x Turkoman
2000Red Bullet4J. BaileyJ. OrsenoStronach Stable1:56.043 3/46.20
ch c by Unbridled - Cargo x *Caro
1999Charismatic6C. AntleyD.W. LukasB. & B. Lewis1:55.321 1/28.40
ch c by Summer Squall - Bali Babe x Drone
1998Real Quiet10K. DesormeauxB. BaffertM. Pegram1:54.752 1/42.50
b c by Quiet American - Really Blue x Believe It
1997Silver Charm7G. StevensB. BaffertB. & B. Lewis1:54.84hd3.10
gr/ro c by Silver Buck - Bonnie's Poker x Poker
1996Louis Quatorze6P. DayN. ZitoCondren, Cornacchia, & Hofmann1:53.433 1/48.50
b c by Sovereign Dancer - On to Royalty x On to Glory
1995Timber Country7P. DayD.W. LukasOverbrook Farms & Gainesway Stable1:54.451/2*1.90
ch c by Woodman - Fall Aspen x Pretense
1994Tabasco Cat1P. DayD.W. LukasOverbrook Farms & D.P. Reynolds1:56.473/43.60
ch c by Storm Cat - Barbicue Sauce x Sauce Boat
1993Prairie Bayou3M.E. SmithT. BohannanLoblolly Stable1:56.611/2*2.20
ch g by Little Missouri - Whiffling x Wavering Monarch
1992Pine Bluff4C.J. McCarronT. BohannanLoblolly Stable1:55.603/4*3.50
b c by Danzig - Rowdy Angel x Halo
1991Hansel4J.D. BaileyF. BrothersLazy Lane Farms1:5479.10
b c by Woodman - Count On Bonnie x Dancing Count
1990Summer Squall7P. DayN. HowardDogwood Stable1:53 3/52 1/42.40
b c by Storm Bird - Weekend Surprise x Secretariat
1989Sunday Silence7P.A. ValenzuelaC. WhittinghamGaillard, Hancock, & Whittingham1:53 4/5no2.10
dk b/br c by Halo - Wishing Well x Understanding
1988Risen Star3E. DelahoussayeL. Roussel IIIRoussel & Lamark Stable1:56 1/51 1/46.80
dk b/br c by Secretariat - Ribbon x His Majesty
1987Alysheba6C.J. McCarronJ. Van BergScharbauer1:55 4/51/2*2.00
b c by Alydar - Bel Sheba x Lt Stevens
1986Snow Chief2A. SolisM. StuteGrinstead & Rochelle1:54 4/542.60
dk b/br c by Reflected Glory - Miss Snowflake x Snow Sporting
1985Tank's Prospect6P. DayD.W. LukasMr. & Mrs. E.V. Klein1:53 2/5hd4.70
b c by Mr. Prospector - Midnight Pumpkin x Pretense
1984Gate Dancer3A. Cordero Jr.J. Van BergK. Opstein1:53 3/51 1/24.80
b c by Sovereign Dancer - Sun Gate x Bull Lea
1983Deputed Testamony3D.A. Miller Jr.W. BonifaceF.P. Sears1:55 2/52 3/414.50
b c by Traffic Cop - Proof Requested x Prove It
1982Aloma's Ruler7J.L. KaenelJ. Lenzini Jr. N. Scherr1:55 2/51/26.90
dk b/br c by Iron Ruler - Aloma x Native Charger
1981Pleasant Colony12J. VelasquezJ. CampoBuckland Farm1:54 3/51*1.50
dk b/br c by His Majesty - Sun Colony x Sunrise Flight
1980Codex3A. CorderoD.W. LukasTartan Stable1:54 1/54 3/42.70
ch c by Arts and Letters - Roundup Rose x Minnesota Mac
1979Spectacular Bid2R.J. FranklinG. DelpHawksworth Farm1:54 1/55 1/2*0.10
gr c by Bold Bidder - Spectacular x Promised Land
1978Affirmed6S. CauthenL. BarreraHarborview Farm1:54 2/5nk*0.50
ch c by Exclusive Native - Won't Tell You x Crafty Admiral
1977Seattle Slew8J. CruguetW. TurnerK.L. Taylor1:54 2/51 1/2*0.40
dk b/br c by Bold Reasoning - My Charmer x Poker
1976Elocutionist5J. LivelyP.T. AdwellE.C. Cashman1:553 1/210.10
b c by Gallant Romeo - Strictly Speaking x Fleet Nasrullah
1975Master Derby3D.G. McHargueW.E. AdamsGolden Chance Farm1:56 2/5123.40
ch c by Dust Commander - Madam Jerry x Royal Coinage
1974Little Current2M.A. RiveraT.L. RondinelloDarby Dan Farm1:54 3/5713.10
ch c by Sea Bird - Luiana x My Babu
1973Secretariat3R. TurcotteL. Laurin Meadow Stable1:54 2/52 1/2*0.30
ch c by Bold Ruler - Something Royal x Princequillo
1972Bee Bee Bee7E. NelsonD.W. CarrollW.S. Farish1:55 3/51 1/218.70
dk b/br c by Better Bee - Paula x Nizami II
1971Canonero II9A. AvilaJ. AriasE. Caibett1:541 1/2*3.40
b c by Pretendre - Dixieland II x Nantallah
1970Personality2E. BelmonteJ.W. JacobsE.D. Jacobs1:56 1/5nk4.50
b c by Hail To Reason - Affectionately x Swaps

Preakness winners 1920-1969          Preakness winners 1873-1919

Kentucky Derby winners           Belmont Stakes winners


©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.